A good advertisement is one which sells the product without drawing attention to itself.

David Ogilvy changed the world of advertising. This 20th century advertising executive understood the importance of both research and creativity when bringing a product to market. He employed unique marketing techniques and made sure to break the rules every once in a while.

During his first few months in advertising, a client looking to promote the opening of his hotel walked into Ogilvy’s office and gave him the job. The client’s budget was $500, and he would accept nothing less than a full house on opening night. Ogilvy took the money, bought $500 worth of postcards, then sent one to everyone he could find in the local telephone directory. On opening night, the hotel was packed! I’ll never underestimate the power of direct marketing!

So I thought I should pay homage to the master of marketing and advertising himself: David Ogilvy. His words can be found at the beginning of this post, and have been used by marketers and advertisers for years. My understanding of this quote is that the best advertisements make an impact and leave an impression without corrupting the value of the brand. I hope that in my future career I am able to put his wise words of wisdom to good use!

