Hello again!

I know it’s been a while since my last post, but I’ll do my best to make my next few posts worth the wait!

Today is my first day back from a quick trip to the beautiful…warm…and sunny San Diego, California! The weather was perfect, the company was great, and the trip was a blast. I couldn’t have asked for a better start to my spring break.

So when I say “quick trip” I mean: “seriously, super fast trip.” We left from Newark Airport on Saturday night, got to San Diego, went to the zoo, drove up to Disneyland, and came back on Tuesday. Just enough time to get a bit of sunburn and a few great pictures!

Like this one! This was Sunday morning's sunrise. Totally worth the early wake up!

Like this one! This was Sunday morning’s sunrise. Totally worth the early wake up!

On Monday we spent the day at the one, the only: Disneyland! It was during my trip there, however, when I started to think about how on earth Disney can keep park attendance up even in the midst of the economic recession. Tickets are getting more expensive by the day, it seems, and yet Disney parks are always packed! How could this be? The answer I came up with is related entirely to their brilliant marketing strategy. Disney bases their advertising on the idea that memories begin within their parks. Take a look at this video and think about what they’re realllly selling:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=zVKOSaBGPQE

Cute, aye? Disney knows that too. They have taken the stance that a lifetime of fun and memories begins with a family trip to Disney. The rides, the characters, the atmosphere. They all add up to childhood memories. That being said, when parents watch this great commercial with its home video footage and genuine kiddie-sized smiles, they get the sense that no childhood is complete without a trip to Disneyland: The place where dreams come true.

That being said, next time you find yourself with a strong urge for Mickey Mouse shaped anything (glasses, oven mitts, ice cream bars) think about where that urge is coming from. Could it be that Disney’s advertising campaign has worked again? Is it the idea of creating lasting memories that strikes your fancy? No matter what it may be, let’s give a big round of applause to the folks at Disney and their consistent imagination and creativity for bringing in customers no matter what the economy looks like.

 

