Here we are, one week post-Super Bowl: basically the only time the commercials are as highly-anticipated (if not more so) than the football game itself. So I took this monumental occasion as the perfect opportunity to look into a few of my favorite television commercials and share my top pick.

And the winner is…drum roll please…Coca-Cola’s ‘Security Camera’ campaign! Previously I had thought this was a Super Bowl ad from this year. Turns out I was wrong, very wrong. But I still like it enough to share it with all of you, with the hope that maybe some of you had never seen it before and will like it as much as I do!

So let’s talk about this ad, shall we? It really brings together everything we all love about Coke’s fun and catchy commercials. It keeps us singing along even after it’s over and feeling like drinking a Coke really will “open happiness.” I’m sure you’re all familiar with the classic “I’d like to buy the world a Coke” campaign from the 70s, the instant hit for Cola-lovers around the world. The company continues this trend of success through the 21st century with its newest addition to Coke’s television commercial repertoire.

I can’t help but smile when I watch each candid moment. The simplicity of the typography does not detract from the commercial, but rather adds to the scenes by describing them simply and humorously. Without focusing solely on Coke as a product, this commercial outlines a lifestyle. It depicts Coke drinkers as being caring, funny, thoughtful, and exciting individuals who know how to have a good time. I think this is what really makes the ad resonate with me…this idea of selling not only a product, but the lifestyle that is so closely associated with it.

Coca-Cola has once again proven itself as an advertising powerhouse (soda-drinking polar bears, anyone?) that is capable of depicting a life of excitement without over-selling the product. I think when other companies begin to learn Coke’s secret, they’ll realize what “open happiness” has meant all along.

Cheers,
Liz

